Wavelet analysis of skin temperature fluctuations: a novel method of microcirculation diagnostics.


Microvascular tone assessment as implemented in the Microtest device is based on the spectral analysis of temperature oscillations on the skin surface. These low-amplitude (~ 0.01 °C) fluctuations occur due to the periodic changes of surface blood vessels’ tone and correlate with them in amplitude. Within the skin blood flow oscillation range, five sub-bands correspond to the different factors involved in the regulation of vascular tone: a pulse wave (0.5-2 Hz), a respiration wave (0.14-0.5 Hz), myogenic oscillations (0,05-0.14 Hz), neurogenic activity (0.02-0.05 Hz) and the endothelial mechanisms (0.0095-0.02 Hz). The amplitudes of the high-frequency temperature oscillations (the respiratory and the pulse waves) on the surface of the skin are comparable to thermal noise, and cannot be reliably measured, but the other sub-bands offer valuable insight into the mechanisms of vascular tone regulation by myogenic, neurogenic and endothelial activity.

In the studies of the vascular system reactions to external stimuli via functional tests it is necessary to monitor the changes in the spectral content of the detected signal, in particular, the changes occurring within the timeframes comparable with the period of oscillation. Such mathematical problems go beyond the traditional spectral analysis, but are handled well by the methods of wavelet analysis, which, among other applications, are used for analysis of laser Doppler flowmetry (LDF) data. The main advantage of wavelet analysis over other spectroscopic methods is the ability to obtain information about the frequency and time characteristics of the signal at the same time. A characteristic feature of the processed signals is their short duration – at the frequency of interest only a few fluctuations take can place during the observation. This requires special care in the analysis of the spectral characteristics, taking into account the boundary effects, and makes it necessary to use special algorithms (adaptive wavelets). The Microtest software uses wavelet filtering based on adaptive wavelet analysis that enables processing of relatively short duration data series, or fragments thereof.

Comparison of the data obtained by Microtest with the results from laser Doppler flowmetry (Moor Instr.) showed a high correlation (0.7) of the LDF and the temperature signals within the frequency range of 0.1 - 0.01 Hz corresponding to the myogenic, neurogenic and endothelial mechanisms of vascular tone regulation.


ЛДФ-грамма и колебания кожной температуры в частотном диапазоне 0.1...0.01Гц

(P. Frick et al. Biomed Signal Proces 08/2015; 21)

Новый метод диагностики микрогемоциркуляции – вейвлет-анализ колебаний кожной температуры


Оценка состояния тонуса микрососудов в приборе Микротест основана на результатах спектрального анализа колебаний температуры на поверхности кожи. Эти низкоамплитудные (~ 0.01 град С) колебания возникают вследствие периодического изменения тонуса поверхностных сосудов и скоррелированы с ними по амплитуде. В спектре колебаний кожного кровотока выделяют пять поддиапазонов, соответствующих различным факторам регуляции сосудистого тонуса: пульсовая волна (0,5–2 Гц), волна дыхания (0,14-0,5 Гц), миогенные колебания (0,05-0,14 Гц), нейрогенная активность (0,02–0,05 Гц) и функционирование эндотелия (0,0095–0,02Гц). Амплитуды высокочастотных колебаний температуры (дыхательная и пульсовая волны) на поверхности кожи сравнимы с тепловыми шумами, и их зафиксировать невозможно, но остается возможность изучения механизмов регуляции тонуса сосудистой системы, обусловленных миогенной, нейрогенной и эндотелиальной активностью.

При изучении реакций сосудистой системы на внешние воздействия во время функциональных проб требуется следить за изменением спектрального состава регистрируемого сигнала, причем за изменениями, происходящими на временах, сопоставимыми с периодом колебаний. Такие задачи выходят за рамки традиционного спектрального анализа, но хорошо решаются методами вейвлет-анализа, применявшимися, в том числе, для анализа данных лазерной допплеровской флоуметрии (ЛДФ). Основным преимуществом вейвлет-анализа перед другими спектральными методами является возможность получения сведений о частотной и временной характеристике сигнала одновременно. Характерной особенностью обрабатываемых сигналов является их малая продолжительность – представляющие интерес частоты таковы, что за время наблюдений происходит лишь небольшое число колебаний. Это обстоятельство требует аккуратности при анализе спектральных характеристик при учете влияния границ и требует применения специальных алгоритмов (адаптивных вейвлетов). В программном обеспечении прибора Микротест используется техника вейвлет-фильтрации на основе адаптивного вейвлет-анализа, поскольку требуется обрабатывать достаточно короткие временные ряды либо их фрагменты.

Сравнительные исследования результатов, получаемых с помощью прибора Микротест с данными лазерной допплеровской флоуметрии (Moor Instr) показали высокую корреляцию (0.7) - ЛДФ и температурных сигналов в частотном диапазоне 0.1 – 0.01 Гц (миогенный, нейрогенный и эндотелиальный механизмы регуляции).


ЛДФ-грамма и колебания кожной температуры в частотном диапазоне 0.1...0.01Гц

(P. Frick et al. Biomed Signal Proces 08/2015; 21)